The Catholic Church across Yorkshire's historic West Riding since 1878

The Catholic Church across Yorkshire's historic West Riding since 1878

New Canons Join the Cathedral Chapter

Mass of Installation of Canon Matthew Habron and Fr Dennis Cassidy to the Leeds Cathedral Chapter on Wednesday 9 August, the Feast of St Teresa Benedicta of the Cross, Co-Patroness of Europe.

Earlier this year Bishop Marcus announced that he had appointed Honorary Canon Matthew Habron, and Fr Dennis Cassidy as members of the Cathedral Chapter. Their appointments were made to fill the vacancies which arose from of the retirement of Canon John Nunan in 2022 and the episcopal ordination of former Canon Philip Moger in February of this year, when he became Auxiliary Bishop in the Archdiocese of Southwark.

Canon Habron has been Dean of the Cathedral and Parish Priest of Mother of Unfailing Help, Leeds since 2019 and Canon Cassidy has been Parish Priest of St John Vianney, Leeds since 2020. Their Installation was witnessed by a large congregation in the Cathedral, including family members, friends, and parishioners.

A video recording of the Mass can be viewed by following this link to the Leeds Cathedral YouTube channel:

A gallery of photographs from the Mass can be viewed here:

At the end of July, the Bishop announced the appointment of another three new Chapter Canons, to coincide with the impending retirement of Canons Kevin Firth, Lawrie Hulme, and Michael Mahady.

Their successors are Fr Gerard Kearney, Parish Priest of St Jeanne Jugan, Leeds; Fr Martin Kelly, Parish Priest of Holy Redeemer, Huddersfield; and Fr Chris Willis, the Parish Priest of Bishop Thornton, and Pateley Bridge. The Canons-elect will be Installed during a Chapter Mass at the Cathedral on a date yet to be arranged.

More information about the Cathedral Chapter can be found here: