The Catholic Church across Yorkshire's historic West Riding since 1878

The Catholic Church across Yorkshire's historic West Riding since 1878


One of the principal objectives of our Charity is the maintenance of churches, presbyteries and schools. Key to fulfilling this objective effectively is the role played by the Diocesan Property Department.

The Diocese of Leeds has an extensive portfolio of places of worship and other properties, including Hinsley Hall, Leeds Catholic Cemetery (Killingbeck) and housing for retired clergy.

The department works closely with parishes on a daily basis as well as advising directors on all aspects of land and property acquisitions and disposals. We have statutory obligations to ensure good access for all and that best practices are in place with respect to the Health and Safety of those who use our properties.

The department supports the work of the Diocese’s Historic Churches Committee and its Art, Architecture and Heritage Committee. It is mindful of the rich history of our sacred places, including our 27 Grade II and Grade II* listed churches.

Amongst the departments biggest challenges is meeting the housing needs of an increased number of retired and retiring clergy. 


General Office Tel: 0113 261 8033

Administrator: Mr Kevin Anderson BSc

Building Surveyor: Mr James Martin BSc Hons., MRICS

Health and Safety Officer: Mr Barry Lewis

Office Administrator: Mrs Kelly Wilson

Office Administrator: Mrs Anita Lewis


Chair: Very Rev Canon Matthew Habron, Cathedral House, Great George Street, Leeds LS2 8BE
Tel: 0113 245 4545
Secretary: Mr Kevin Anderson Tel: 0113 261 8033

The members of the committee are appointed by the Bishop to oversee all works which involve changes to the appearance of a church or chapel, either internally or externally. Parishes are expected to contact the Secretary of the AAH Committee at the earliest opportunity when starting to consider a project. In the case of works to be carried out at a Listed Church, once the proposals have been considered by the AAH Committee they go forward to the Historic Churches Committee for the necessary statutory approval of works.


Tel:  0113 261 8033
Address: Hinsley Hall, 62 Headingley Lane, Leeds LS6 2BX
Fax: 0113 261 8035

The HCC is a statutory body operating according to norms approved by the Bishops’ Conference of England and Wales and the Department for Culture, Media and Sport. Following due process the HCC can grant the equivalent of Listed Building Consent for works to be carried out on listed churches and chapels in the Diocese of Leeds. Due process includes consultation with Historic England, the national amenities societies and the local planning authorities. These stakeholders are represented on the HCC, with other members being appointed by the Bishop.

The Committee Members are:

Rev Mgr P Fisher – Chairman
Rev P Kravos – Council of Priests
Awaiting Appointment – Religious Orders
Mr R Finnigan KSS – Church History
Mrs E Haestier – Art, Architecture and Heritage Committee
Very Rev  Canon M Habron – Chair of Liturgy Commission
Very Rev Canon J Nunan – Finance
Awaiting Appointment – English Heritage
Awaiting Appointment – Amenity Societies
Awaiting Appointment – Artist, Church Art
Mr SRT Rowe – Architect, Conservation of Church Buildings
Mr PEH Ward – Planning Authorities

Secretary to the Committee: Mr K Anderson

The membership and procedures of the Committee are in accordance with those agreed by the Conference of Catholic Bishops of England and Wales with the Department for Culture, Media and Sport.

The Churches that are Listed are:

St Mary of the AngelsBatleyKirklees Metropolitan CouncilII
St JosephBishop ThorntonHarrogate Borough CouncilII
St CuthbertBradfordCity of Bradford Metropolitan CouncilII*
Our Lady & First MartyrsBradfordCity of Bradford Metropolitan CouncilII
St JosephBradfordCity of Bradford Metropolitan CouncilII
St PatrickBradfordCity of Bradford Metropolitan CouncilII
St MaryCarltonSelby District CouncilII*
St Edward King & ConfessorCliffordLeeds City CouncilII
Our Lady & St PaulinusDewsburyKirklees Metropolitan CouncilII
Our Lady & St RobertHarrogateHarrogate Borough CouncilII
Holy SpiritHeckmondwikeKirklees Metropolitan CouncilII
Sacred HeartHowdenEast Riding of Yorkshire CouncilII
St PatrickHuddersfieldKirklees Metropolitan CouncilII
St AnneKeighleyCity of Bradford Metropolitan CouncilII
St MaryKnaresboroughHarrogate Borough CouncilII
Our Lady of the Crag (Shrine)KnaresboroughHarrogate Borough CouncilII
Cathedral Church of St AnneLeedsLeeds City CouncilII*
Pastoral Centre ChapelLeedsLeeds City CouncilII
St JosephPontefractCity of Wakefield Metropolitan District CouncilII*
St WilfridRiponHarrogate Borough CouncilII*
Immaculate ConceptionScarthingwellSelby District CouncilII
St MarySelbySelby District CouncilII
Church of Immaculate MarySicklinghallHarrogate Borough CouncilII
Our Lady of Mount CarmelSilsdenCity of Bradford Metropolitan CouncilII
St StephenSkiptonCraven District CouncilII
St Margaret ClitherowThreshfieldCraven District CouncilII
St AustinWakefieldCity of Wakefield Metropolitan District CouncilII

Details of all applications to the Committee and records of the work of the Committee are available for public inspection at Hinsley Hall, 62 Headingley Lane, Leeds, by prior arrangement with the Secretary.