The Catholic Church across Yorkshire's historic West Riding since 1878

The Catholic Church across Yorkshire's historic West Riding since 1878




Diocesan Trustees 


Diocese of Leeds Trustee (Company registration number 2886244)

Registered Office:
Hinsley Hall, 62 Headingley Lane, Leeds, LS6 2BX

Rt Rev Marcus Stock (Bishop of Leeds)

Mrs Mary Benton

Mr Luke Corcoran

Rev Mgr Paul Fisher (Vicar General)

Mr Mark Gargan

Rev Fr Eamonn Hegarty

Mr Liam Kelly

Mr Patrick McDermott

Mr William O’Neill

Rev Mgr Andrew Summersgill (Moderator of the Curia & Vicar General)

Ms Helen Wain

Mr Peter Wilson

Company Secretary
Mr John Moran

Constitution and Aims
The Charity, the Leeds Diocesan Trust, is a registered charity with the registration number 249404.  The Charity was established, in its current form, by a Trust Deed dated 20 December 1993. The sole Trustee of the Charity is a trust corporation, the Diocese of Leeds Trustee, company registration number 2886244.  The Leeds Diocesan Trust is the legal entity of the Diocese of Leeds.

In support of the Mission of the Catholic Church, the principal objectives of the Charity are:

  • the advancement of the Catholic Religion;
  • the promotion of Catholic Teaching in the Diocese and beyond;
  • the provision and care of Priests; and
  • the maintenance of Churches, Presbyteries and Schools.


The operation of the Charity is overseen by the Trustee.  The Directors of the Trustee are appointed by the Bishop of Leeds who is Chair of the Board.  There are usually four Trustee Board meetings during the financial year.  The Trustee Board is, for the purposes of Canon Law, the Finance Council of the Diocese.  The Trustee complies with the requirements of the Charities Act 2011, Section 17, to have due regard to the public benefit guidance published by the Charities Commission including the guidance ‘Public benefit: running a charity (PB2)’ in determining the activities undertaken by the Charity.

Through its Annual Report the Trustee seeks to demonstrate that the Charity’s aims and objectives are for the public benefit.


The Diocese consists of 78 parishes, administered by the Charity, in West Yorkshire, North Yorkshire, the East Riding of Yorkshire, Greater Manchester and Lancashire.

The Diocese also has 93 Catholic schools and academies and a sixth-form college.  Leeds Trinity University, a Catholic Foundation University, is also located within the Diocese.