The Catholic Church across Yorkshire's historic West Riding since 1878.

The Catholic Church across Yorkshire's historic West Riding since 1878.

The Cathedral Chapter

 The Chapter of Canons is attached to Leeds Cathedral.  According to the Statutes of the Chapter there are to be twelve Canons and each is appointed by the Diocesan Bishop.  Once appointed and installed, Canons remain in office until they are 75 years of age when they are requested to offer their resignation from the Chapter to the Diocesan Bishop.  When a Canon has resigned from the Chapter he is known as a Canon emeritus.  The head of the Chapter is known as the Provost.

According to the general law of the Church, the role of the Chapter is to celebrate the more solemn liturgical functions in the Cathedral.  Moreover, in the Diocese of Leeds the Chapter functions as the College of Consultors who advise the Bishop on specific issues laid down in the law.  By custom, should the Diocese become vacant the Chapter, having been convened by the Provost, chooses a priest to administer the Diocese until a new Bishop is appointed by the Pope.

The Diocesan Bishop may appoint Honorary Canons who are not part of the Chapter but may use the title ‘Very Reverend Canon’ and wear the prescribed canonical dress. 

Cathedral Chapter of Canons

Very Rev Provost John Aveyard
Very Rev Canon James Callaghan
Very Rev Canon Kevin Firth
Very Rev Canon John Galvin
Very Rev Canon Lawrence Hulme
Very Rev Canon Christopher Irving
Very Rev Canon Michael Mahady
Very Rev Canon Eugene McGillycuddy
Very Rev Mgr Canon Philip Moger
Very Rev Canon John Nunan
Very Rev Canon Ian Smith
Very Rev Canon Timothy Wiley

Canons Emeriti

Very Rev Canon Sean Durcan
Very Rev Canon Joseph Finan
Very Rev Canon Sean Gilligan
Very Rev Canon Paul Moxon
Very Rev Canon Thomas O’Connor
Very Rev Canon Vincent O’Hara
Very Rev Mgr Canon Bryan J Sharp
Very Rev Canon Joseph Smith
Very Rev Canon Joseph Taylor

Honorary Canons

Very Rev Canon Matthew Habron
Very Rev Canon Michael McCreadie
Very Rev Mgr Canon David Smith
Very Rev Canon Timothy Swinglehurst